Welcome to your Kappa Lambda Chapter website!
Kappa Lambda was chartered at Otterbein University in April 1988 as the 249th chapter of Sigma Theta Tau. We celebrated our 25th anniversary in 2013. The chapter is a member of the Central Ohio Consortium of Sigma Theta Tau chapters that provides two CE programs a year. See the news and events for programs and activities of Kappa Lambda and the consortium. We would like you to take part in these events and interact with members of the consortium.

Please select the "Chapter Leaders" button on the upper right hand side of the screen to learn about and contact the board members. If you are no longer active, please select the "Renew Today" button on the screen. 

Otterbein University was founded 1847 as a liberal arts institution.
Second institution of higher education in the U.S. to admit
women equally with men. The nursing program accepted its 
first students in 1978. 

Towers Hall is the center of Otterbein        The Science Center in 2010 replaced a
University and was built in 1870 after           1950s one. The Department of Nursing
the initial academic building was                  is housed on several floors in the 2008
destroyed by fire.
                                    renovated 1919 building on the right. 

25th anniversary plague given to chapter at the
2015 STTI convention.

Regional Excellence Awards from STTI for the 2013-2015 Biennium 


The chapter was awarded all four awards: Servant Leadership, Connectedness, Gratitude, 
Transformation. These were established by STTI in response to international President Klopper's
Call to Action for the biennium. Thank you to all members who supported these efforts.

     Central Ohio Consortium, Founders' Day, October 12, 2015

 Dr. Bernadette Melnyk, Dean of the             Barb Kerr, Leslie Justice, Trudy Mason,
 College of Nursing, Ohio State     
Ruth Chavez of Kappa Lambda
University, spoke on "Improving Health
Care Quality and Reducing Costs with
Evidence-based Practice."

Hosting of the four chapters of the           Silent auction to support survivors of
Central Ohio Consortium by Epsilon   human trafficking.

New Board and Committee members installed July 7, 2015

 Mary McKelvey, Lauren Jackson, Joy Charlene Seevers and Shannon Elder
Shoemaker, Trudy Mason, Mary Ann
Burnam, Karen Hughes, Leslie Justice.

Central Ohio Consortium, Spring Research Symposium, April, 2015

April 16, 2015, the Central Ohio Consortium had its spring research symposium hosted 
by Mount Carmel College of Nursing. Officers, faculty, and students presented their
research posters before the dinner. Mary Dolansky, PhD, RN, from Case Western University
and director of the QSEN Institute presented "Systems Thinking: the Key to Quality 
and Safety." as a continuing education offering. Members of Kappa Lambda were present.


Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Chapter News


    Our Fall Founder's Day Event & 2016 Induction & Award Ceremony will be Thursday, October 6, 5:30-8:30 pm, at the Embassy Suites in Columbus. Registration materials are being sent - deadline is September 22. Online registration is listed below.

  • Chapter Outreach

    1. The chapter donated funds to the STTI Foundation in the memory of Joan Pryor-McCann, a former president, scholarship and research award chairperson, and professor emerita of the Department of Nursing. This giving recognition is noted by the banner - Giving Club Member.
    2. Again in the late fall, the chapter had a mitten tree in the Science building for donations for WARM (Westerville Area Resource Ministry). 175 gloves, mittens, and hats were donated by students, faculty, and members. The chapter received a thank you. The sophomore class made the largest donation. Thank you to everyone who participated.

  • October 23, 2015 Induction of new members

    The 2015 STTI Kappa Lambda Chapter Induction ceremony was held October 23rd at Giammarco's Italian Restaurant in Westerville. Approximately 50 chapter members, inductees, friends and family members attended. Undergraduate students accepting membership were: Andrea Arcara, Laurann Brown, Katie Comyns, Kelly Dzialowski, Miranda Fabian, Madyson Ford, Heather Higgins, Sydney Hines, Marissa Massey, Mackenzie Melvin, Abbey Moran, Sara Ridenbaugh, Sarah Rowles, Danielle Smalley, Paxton Wenger, Kendra Wilk, Michelle Zumpano. Graduate students accepting membership were: Melissa Bianchi, Jessica Castle, Stephen Maynard, Cheryl McCloud, Ky Lee Parrot, Troy Perkins, Erin Ricker, Erin Steiner.
    Mackenzie Melvin received the undergraduate scholarship. Shaylyn Webster received the graduate scholarship. Congratulations to all!

  • News about former members of the Department of Nursing

    Two Kappa Lambda members retired this spring from the Department of Nursing. Both have been very active in the chapter for many years. Dr. Mary McKelvey is well known by undergraduate and graduate students whom she taught. She served the campus and department on many committees. Mary came to Otterbein in 1984.
    Trudy Mason came to campus in 1981 as the second supervisor of the skills lab, since the nursing program opened in 1978. She is responsible for designing the new nursing skills facilities that greeted students in January 2009. We wish both an enjoyable retirement.

    A retired faculty member, Dr. Joan Pryor McCann, passed away on March 7, 2015 surrounded by family and care givers. Joan came to Otterbein in 1991. She was active previously in Epsilon chapter and served as president. Joan served Kappa Lambda as president-elect, president, and awards chairperson for several years.

  • Kappa Lambda Officers and Committee Members - beginning July 2015

    President - Trudy Mason
    Vice-president- Ruth Chavez
    Treasurer - Leslie Justice
    Secretary - Diane Weed
    Counselor - Karen Hughes
    Governance Committee - Mary McKelvey, Eda Mikolaj, Mary Ann Burnam
    Leadership/Succession Committee - Char Seevers, Shanon Elder, Lauren Jackson, Marjorie Vogt
    Scholarship/Awards/Research Chair - Joy Shoemaker

  • The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository

    Visit www.nursingrepository.org and select the "Get Started" tab.
    The repository is free for faculty and students to preserve, organize, and share approved student work of capstones, theses, and undergraduate papers, and faculty work.

  • "Student Central"

    Select this site for career advice, free online courses, networking, nursing products, and more.

Upcoming Events

Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.